Playful Whales for a Happy 1st Birthday!

May is a bit of a mad month for me. We have Mothers Day and heaps of birthdays! The advantage of all this is I have lots of cards to share with you. Today I thought I’d share the card I made for my one year old grandson. His sister turned 3 just three days before him so they had a combined sea themed birthday party. So my design was inspired by the theme.

I will show you the card at the end of the post because there are a couple of techniques I will share with you first.

 

P1000933

The sea needs waves. So I decided to use the scalloped skirt edge from the Dress Up Framelits die and cut out rows of little waves. I needed several rows for the idea I had. Once I had my rows ready I scrunched them up and distressed them and then separated the two ply Stampin’ Up! card stock into separate pieces. This gives you a rough side and a shinny side. I alternated these to make the waves.  I used white craft ink and sponged bits on the edges to make it look like white foamy water. 

P1000940I then decided I wanted to use the blue striped part from the Patio Party DSP paper but the piece I had was too thin to hold in place on the trimmer. So using a stick on note to hold it in place I was able to trim the part I wanted to use. Stick on notes are great for holding all sorts of items in place when doing craft. They are also great for holding framelits in place when running them through the Big Shot.

P1000936Once you run the trimmer blade over it you have the perfectly cut piece you need!

P1000937So all I needed now were some whales using the Happy Whale clearlits die, a few clouds using the Cloudy Day embossing folder, a piece of Real Red stitched grosgrain ribbon, a Happy Birthday using the Itty Bitty Banners stamp set, a number “1” glued to a red banner and run through the Perfect Polka Dots embossing folder, a couple of small black brads for the eyes, a bit of glue and here you are:

P1000941

Happy whales playing and having fun. This is just what every One year old needs!

I hope you enjoy this card as much as I did creating it. It was a lot of fun and although I had a simpler idea in my head when I started I am really happy with the results. I can think of heaps of ways to use those waves!

If you would like to know more about any of the items I used or the techniques just drop me a comment at the end of this post. You can also email me or head over to my Facebook page and leave a comment. I’d love to hear from you.

All the products used in this post are from Stampin’ Up!  You can browse through the catalogue here or drop me a line if you would like one posted to you (Sorry Australia only).

I hope to be back real soon with more cards from my May birthdays.

Happy Creating!

Chantini

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Big Shot, Cloudy Day embossing folder, Designer Series Paper, Dress Up, Embossing Folders, Happy Whale Clearlits Die, Itty Bitty Banners, Masculine Cards, Perfect Polka Dot embossing folder, Ribbons, Seasonal Catalogue, Uses for sticky notes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Playful Whales for a Happy 1st Birthday!

  1. Bonnie Millar says:

    So cute!

  2. Lynda S says:

    Lordy Chantini….too stinkin’ cute!!!! ooxx

Leave a Reply

