Spring is in the air …..

I love Spring! Lovely sunny days, plants and flowers coming to life after the Winter, the beautiful scent of my orchids, blossoms on the fruit trees, new life everywhere. One of my favourite flowers, and I have many favourites, is the Camellia. Layers of soft delicate petals against glossy foliage. Today’s card was inspired by this most beautiful flower.

P1010391

I wanted that delicate soft look so I used the Stampin’ Up! Creped filter paper. Using the Big Shot and the Floral Frames Collection (the second smallest flower) I cut out 12 flowers. I then lightly spritzed each flower using daffodil delight, melon mambo and calypso coral. This gave each petal a slightly different look. Some parts of the petals were left white. I then layered each piece and held them together with a small brad. You won’t see the brad so you can use any colour. Each layer was then scrunched tight and very gently pulled back out to get the desired look. I then spritzed the whole flower with champagne mist (retired) to give it a shimmery finish.

P1010392To make the card I layered The Framed tulips embossing folder over a couple of pieces of pear pizzazz card I’d embossed with the lacy brocade folder (retired). Cut out a frame using the Labels collection framelits  glued this on top. I then cut out a set of leaves from the Little leaves sizzlits. I distressed the leaves and embossed veins using my tweezers and sponged the top with old olive. I then put a couple of drops of Crystal effects to form dew drops and left it to dry. I also put a couple of drops on the flower.

P1010393

The sentiment is from the pursuit of happiness (retired) set and has been punched out with the Decorative label punch. I also punched out a second label, cut it in half and attached it behind the sentiment to add a little bit of colour. Once the leaves were dry I attached them to the card, placed the flower on top and stuck down the sentiment. A little Rhinestone finishes off the sentiment.

This last photo shows the colours in the flower. I have it sitting on some real leaves (all credit to our wonderful God for His creation).

P1000821

Technical note: to make up spritzing colours I fill a Stampin’ Spritzer bottle with rubbing alcohol (available at supermarkets or chemists) and a about 10 drops of the desired Classic Stampin’ Ink refill. You can adjust the colour as needed but I find that you can always do more spritzes to get a stronger colour. The rubbing alcohol dries quickly so you can get on with your project.

I would love to hear what inspires you. Feel free to leave a comment. If you would like any information or have any questions about anything in the post please email me or comment.

Inspiration can come from many places. So why not go out in the sunshine, take a deep breath and see what inspires you.

Happy creating!

Chantini

This entry was posted in Big Shot, Champagne mist, Creped filter paper, Crystal effects, Decorative label, Floral Frames Collection Framelits, Framed tulip embossing folder, Labels Collection Framelits, Lacy Brocade, Little leaves sizzlits, Punches, Pursuit of Happiness, Rhinestone, Spritz, Techniques & Tools, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Spring is in the air …..

  1. Lynda S says:

    Breathtaking darl….. ooxx

  2. Bonnie says:

    As always your creations are so pretty. Beautiful soft colours, romantic designs.

Leave a Reply

