Card in a box!

Have you heard about the Card in a box? Well I have to tell you it is all the rage at the moment in paper crafting circles. They are literally popping up all over the place. There are some excellent tutorials on YouTube that give you the technique for the box. They are not hard to make and are a lot of fun to decorate. The one I used was by a fellow Stampin’ Up! demonstrator Tanya Bell. You can view her tutorial here.

I have made two boxes. The first picture shows one I made for a Summer Challenge. You had to create anything (card, scrapbook layout, 3D project etc….) that reminded you of Summer. In the photo you will see I’ve included some of the steps I took to decorate the box.

Summer ChallengeThe “Summer” was done in MDS  (My Digital Studio) and I all the other images were from the Stampin’ Up! Bug Me stamp set. The bees and dragon flies are covered in Crystal Effects and the dragon fly also has ultra fine glitter on the wings. They are suspended using strips of clear sheet so they actually move around a bit. The wings on the bees are stamped and then embossed on vellum. You will also notice some embossing and punches.

The first box I made is pictured below. I used Stampin’ Up!’s backyard basics stamp set and matching Framelits dies as well as the 25th anniversary Best of butterflies set (my personal favourite of the anniversary sets). The sentiment is from the Express Yourself stamp set (a hostess set). I also used some of the beautiful Venetian Romance designer series paper.

P1020786

These cards were great fun to make. They also fold flat and can be placed in an envelope to give or post. All the products used were from Stampin’ Up! so if you have any questions please feel free to email me or leave a comment. I hope you feel inspired to have a go yourself.

Happy Creating!

Chantini ♥

 

This entry was posted in Backyard Basics, Backyard basics framelits, Big Shot, Bitty Butterfly, Bug me, Challenges, Cloudy Day embossing folder, Crystal effects, Designer Series Paper, Elegant Butterfly, Embossing, Embossing Folders, Express Yourself, Itty Bitty Shapes punch pack, Kindness Matters, My Digital Studio, Perfect Polka Dot embossing folder, Punches, Rhinestone, Stampin' Up! 25th Anniversary, Techniques & Tools, Vellum and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Card in a box!

  1. Bonnie says:

    You have been very busy creating. Beautiful xxoo

Leave a Reply

