Vintage Slippers – lace, flowers, beads and pearls!

Vintage! The word seems to be everywhere these days. I have always loved old things (I say that to my husband sometimes and remind him he is blessed I feel that way! ☺ lol) –  old lace, embroidery, linen, fabric, jars, tools, furniture – the list goes on. I love timber furniture – the older the better. I love to hear the history of the piece. It is kind of like people who collect old books. They like to know who read it before them. They love books with inscriptions and dates. The feel of the paper, the beautiful illustrations often hand painted, limited editions – one of life’s pleasures.

Today’s blog is a bit of vintage. I purchased a pair of crochet flat shoes for the huge price of $14. I had them on at home to wear them in a bit and thought what a great canvas to be creative. Using some elements from my very favourite Artisan Embellishments Kit, some hand dyed Crochet Trim (crumb cake), hand dyed Flower Trim (Raspberry Ripple & crumb cake), various beads and fresh water pearls I went to town. The photos have come out a bit yellow which ads to the whole vintage look. I have also sprayed both shoes with Scotchguard to protect them from dirt and grim.

P1000814I’m very happy with the results and I now have a totally original pair of shoes. The whole project only took about an hours and the elements were very easy to sew onto the shoes.

P1000810

Creativity is only limited by your imagination. Stampin’ Up! products are not just for card making and scrapbooking. Think outside the square and look around the house. I”d love to hear from you with any ideas. I’m happy to put readers projects on my blog so email me your photos. If you would like to know anything about this project or wish to say anything please post a comment.

I hope you were inspired today.

Happy Creating!

Chantini

This entry was posted in Dying with Classic Stampin' Ink Refills, Embellishments Artisan Kit, Flower Trim, Sewing Projects, Trim & Embellishments, Vintage, Vintage slippers and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Vintage Slippers – lace, flowers, beads and pearls!

  1. These look stunning! What a fantastic idea!

  2. Thanks Hannah. Sometimes the unplanned creative projects turn out to be the best! Happy creating, Chantini

  3. Bonnie Millar says:

    Really great idea. xo

Leave a comment